The Pyramid Diet and Five Well-Known Food Pyramids: A Guide to a Balanced and Healthy Diet

The Pyramid Diet

Historically, various food pyramids (The Pyramid Diet) have been used to visually represent a balanced and healthy diet, with different versions based on the dietary recommendations of specific countries or organizations.

The most well-known is the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food Pyramid, which was replaced by MyPlate in 2011. MyPlate simplifies the dietary recommendations into a plate divided into sections for fruits, vegetables, grains, and protein, with a side serving of dairy.

The Pyramid Diet
The Pyramid Diet

An equilibrated diet plays a huge role in having a fit and healthy body. Based on medical research, a diet was created based on a pyramid model when categorizing the main food groups.

The diet is actually a guide, that teaches us what and how much to eat, in order to avoid the main things that harm our bodies, such as fats, cholesterol, sugars, and excessive alcohol.

The Pyramid Diet

is the symbol of stability, of harmony and it represents a perfect structure, it has a solid base, and each level supports the next one. Except for the top, all the steps of a pyramid must be intact in order to maintain the structure intact. Exactly the same way a healthy diet system must be built, in order to obtain results from it.

The pyramid diet demands that the food groups be distributed according to the number of portions necessary.

For example, the cereal group is the base and has the largest number of daily portions. The next level is the one of fruits and vegetables, with a lower number of daily portions, and so on. Also, it must be known, that no level is more important than the other, and products from each level must be used daily.

Of course, we can skip the top, because it will not affect the stability of the diet.

In order to determine the size and content of each portion, we need to follow some rules: 3/4 of the total must be cereals, vegetables, and fruits, and only 1/4 must be meat or fish. Reduce the fats, and make sure you have the right quantity for you.

The First Level – The Base

Bread, Cereals, rice, or pasta obtained from grain gives the body a good energy push. Because they contain a lot of fiber, these products must be consumed daily, at least 4 times. Pick low-fat products, and avoid sugar-related products such as cookies.

The Second Level

Fruits and vegetables are low in fats, and rich in vitamins, minerals, and fibers. During the day, you need to change the type of fruits and vegetables you consume, because each one of them contains different vitamins and minerals. Make sure you eat fruits two times a day, and vegetables at least three times a day

What are the 5 pyramids of food?

Here are five well-known food pyramids:

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) MyPlate:

  • The MyPlate icon replaced the traditional Food Pyramid in 2011 as the official dietary guide for the United States. MyPlate divides a plate into four sections: fruits, vegetables, grains, and protein, with a side serving of dairy. It emphasizes the importance of portion control and balancing different food groups for a well-rounded diet.

Mediterranean Diet Pyramid:

  • The Mediterranean Diet Pyramid represents the dietary habits of countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea. It emphasizes plant-based foods, such as fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and olive oil, along with moderate consumption of fish and poultry, and limited intake of red meat. It also includes regular physical activity and enjoyment of meals with family and friends.

The Pyramid Diet(Asian):

  • The Asian Diet Pyramid reflects the traditional diets of several Asian countries. It typically includes a base of rice, noodles, or other staple grains, followed by generous servings of vegetables and fruits. Moderate amounts of protein from fish, poultry, tofu, and legumes are recommended, along with minimal use of fats and oils.

Latin American Diet Pyramid:

  • The Latin American Diet Pyramid incorporates the dietary patterns of various Latin American countries. It emphasizes plant-based foods like corn, beans, and rice, along with a variety of fruits and vegetables. It includes moderate portions of animal protein from sources like meat, poultry, and fish, as well as healthy fats like avocado and olive oil.

The Pyramid Diet or Vegan Food Pyramid:

  • The Vegetarian or Vegan Food Pyramid (The Pyramid Diet)is designed to guide individuals following plant-based diets. It emphasizes plant foods such as fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds. It provides alternative sources of protein, calcium, iron, and other essential nutrients typically found in animal-based products.

Leave a Replay

Follow Us

Recent Posts

BMI calculator



Post Categories

Shop categories

Sign up for our Website